Motorbiking Vietnam Part VII: Closing Thoughts

 

And with that, my adventure motorbiking through Vietnam has come to an end. I must say, as amazing as the trip was, it’s a relief to be off my bike. The responsibility and unknowns that come with owning a used bike proved stressful and burdensome.

But it certainly was the trip of a lifetime. Over the past month, I’ve seen the beauty, history, and kindness that is Vietnam. I’ve explored incredible caves and drove some of the most beautiful roads and mountain passes I’ve seen. I’ve learned a lot about the Vietnam War and the country’s history from a different perspective and as an American, have managed to meet incredibly kind locals. I’ve driven in the rain for three straight days, alone, and have broken down too many times to count. I’ve eaten lunch in a local family’s home while a mechanic fixed my bike. And washed it down with homemade rice wine. I’ve met so many other great travelers, who are now good friends. And I’ve been so lucky to have had a (relatively) safe ride down Vietnam.

I would be lying if I said I wasn’t scared for my life at time. The Vietnamese are insane drivers following no road laws. Driving is an art form, as drivers perform impossible maneuvers, weaving in and out of traffic. I had a few brushes with danger and have heard of more serious accidents with travelers, but it’s a part of the experience. Always steer on the side of safety, be alert, and go slow. There comes immense responsibility when motorbiking Vietnam, but immense reward as well. Buses provide convenience and comfort but a motorbike promises adventure and a unique perspective.

 

I covered 2,159 km (or 1,342 miles) in 13 riding days.

IMG_8216

 

Expenses overview:

Bought for: $290.00

Repairs: $160.14

Gas: $42.67

Sold for: $200

Cost: $292.81

*Most other travelers only lost $50-$100 for their trip. My bike had a little more trouble than most. There’s no way of knowing how good or bad a bike really is until you’re in the middle of your trip. And by that time, there’s nothing you can do but ride on.

 


 

phongnhabike

If anyone is interested in reading an in-depth guide from start to finish on motorbiking Vietnam, I wrote an article for Mad Monkey Hostels (a Cambodia Hostel Company). Become an expert here!

 


 

 

I’ve always been a firm believer that the best way to see a foreign country or city is on your own: no tours, no buses, no pre-booked itineraries. You will understand the country from an authentic, unfiltered perspective.

So if you’re planning on traveling to Vietnam, which you should be, I’d recommend buying your very own motorbike, getting lost, and seeing the true Vietnam.

Happy Motorbiking!

Michael

2 thoughts on “Motorbiking Vietnam Part VII: Closing Thoughts

  1. Nancy Weiss says:

    Hi Michael,
    I ran into Maureen McLaughlin and she told me about your adventures.
    I have been going through your blog and am amazed. You were a cute kid and now you are a handsome man.
    Your pics are fantastic. I am in awe about what you have done and are doing. I will look forward to seeing more of your trips.
    Take care,
    Nancy Weiss

Leave a Reply

