And the adventure begins…

Well, it’s Sunday, October 25th, the day of my flight to Bangkok, Thailand!  Packing is done and I’m just finishing last minute errands and research.  You can see everything I’m taking below, fitting into my beloved 50 liter backpack that has seen almost as much of the world as I have.

SEASIAPACKING

I’ll be traveling for an unknown amount of time; I’m guessing about a year.  It’s kinda scary to pack so little for such a long period of travel.  My plans as of now are to spend my first 3 months in Thailand (for Loi Krathong – the festival of lanterns, Christmas, and New Year’s), and then a month in Cambodia, Vietnam, and Laos, each, and then back to Thailand for another 3 months.  From there, I’m not too sure where I’ll be off to.  I’m thinking Eastern Europe for some summer fun, but anything can happen.

I spent the last week at home in New York, enjoying spending time with my dad, brother, and friends.  I kept it pretty casual, though, and focused on preparing for this trip.

If you want to follow my adventures in Southeast Asia and beyond, follow me on social media!

Facebook: facebook.com/michaelgrant13
Twitter: yomichaelgrant
Instagram: michaelinstagrant

The next time you hear from me, I will (hopefully) have survived a 22 hour trip: 18 hours from JFK to Taiwan, a 2 hour layover, and a 4 hour flight to Bangkok.

BACKPACKME2

Love to you all!
And happy travels!

Michael

One thought on “And the adventure begins…

  1. Ruperman says:

    Awesome! Been thinking about an extended backpacking trip to New Zealand lately and your blog is definitely fueling the fire. I’ll be following along on the journey and taking notes. Enjoy it, brother!

Leave a Reply

