Lake Atitlan, Guatemala 

I got to “the lake” around 6 pm. The descent into San Pedro de la Laguna was awful, two hours worth of steep switchbacks. After such a long couple of days, I needed some sleep. I probably went to bed at 10.

And I woke up at 8:30. 10 and a half hours of much needed sleep after two nights of partying and two long days of trekking and traveling. Tuesday was a rest day. I had a great (and cheap) breakfast on the lake. And after a bit of planning for my 16 hour trip from Guatemala to Nicaragua, I found a rock that I laid out on for about 3 hours. The lake is surrounded by tall mountains and volcanos, a beautiful and peaceful place to relax. 

As much as I wanted to be active, to do something, whether it be sightseeing, hiking, kayaking, or whatever, I dedicated the day as a rest day. No physical or mental activity for me. I soaked up the sun, listening to the small waves hit the rocky shore. I’ve learned that while I don’t have all the time I want, I can’t do crazy, adventurous things everyday. Rest days are important. It allows you to pause and let your soul breathe.

At night, I met up with some English friends that I met in Flores and Antigua. We shared a few drinks and laughs.

Wednesday morning I woke up at 3:30 am for a sunrise hike up Indian Nose Mountain. It was definitely much easier than Acatenango, only 30 minutes to the top. The locals made a fire and some coffee for us while we watched the sun slowly light up the sky. We had an amazing view of the lake, San Pedro, and Volcán de Acatenango and Fuego in the distance. We could even see some eruptions in the distance.

I enjoyed breakfast on the lake (again), before taking a ferry to Panajachel and then a bus from there back to Antigua. Definitely a better alternative to the two hours of switchbacks and bumps that I came in on.

Miguel

PS Let it be known that Mr. Mullets was the first place with hot water. In the two days there, I showered three times. It was amazing.





Leave a Reply

