2013: A Year in Review

2013.
A lot has happened in the past year.

I graduated college from Temple University, Honors Program, with a BA in Theater.  And I was accepted into two graduate school programs abroad.  In the end, I decided I am too young and do not have the finances for graduate school, but was honored to have been accepted.  And while I will be taking a break from the grueling world of theater, I have learned a great deal from my 4 years in school.  Studying theater, you not only learn plays, acting, or the backstage life; you learn who are you, confidence, the value of an imagination, and so much more that other degrees can not teach you.

I got my lifelong scuba certification.  Caribbean, here I come!

My first relationship ended.  It began when I was just 18 years old, and lasted just over 3 years.  The break-up sucked and I find myself questioning my decision, but at the end of the day, I needed to put myself first.  I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life (and still don’t, but have since found peace with that), I had no idea who I was, and felt responsible to someone else more than myself.  I am here for me.  I need to live life on my own and figure myself out before I can devote myself to another.  I want to travel, go out with friends, and live spontaneously, without feeling tied down by anyone.  I have no desire to settle down at the moment; I just want to be open to as many experiences as possible.  While he is a great person, we were at different places of our lives and the timing just wasn’t right.

I moved into my very own apartment that I love.  It’s small, but it’s my own space, something I’ve been waiting for my entire life.  I’m in Center City Philadelphia, near to many restaurants, bars, and fun things to do.  And I pay all of my own bills, a responsibility I happily welcome and take pride in.

I challenged myself and completed a Tough Mudder – 12 miles, 22 obstacles, hot weather, and lots of mud.

I had a great summer and rediscovered the value of friends.  They all made what should have been a not-so-good summer, a lot of fun.  If I still had a Myspace or an AIM, all your initials would be posted with a cute little friendship quote.

I planned my first solo adventure: London.  Coming out of college and a long relationship, I needed to do something different – traveling to London on my own was exactly what I needed.  I explored the city on my own, but also met a lot of great people along the way.  Many of them have re-ignited my wanderlust, inspiring me to travel the world without fear or doubt.

I was accepted for the 4K for Cancer cross-country bike ride.  And having been fundraising for just two months, I’ve raised $5,300 of my $6,000 goal. 🙂

What I’ve learned:  It’s not always selfish to put yourself first.  If it’s meant to be, it will be.  I live for adventure.  Spontaneous nights are always the best nights.  Do something crazy.  Everyday.  Listen to others but do what makes you happy.  Anything is possible.  Stand up for yourself.  Splurge every now and then.  Talk to everyone you meet – everyone has a story.  Don’t let fear hold you back; you’ll regret the what-ifs more than the lessons learned.  The best is yet to come.

2013 was a great year.  Thank you to everyone that was a part of it.  I love you all.

2014 Plans…
Mardi Gras?
Miami?
Carribbean?
Greece?
4K for Cancer.
Move to the West Coast?
Southeast Asia?

Follow me and find out!
2014 – I’m looking forward to what’s coming!

Michael

Leave a Reply

