I’m exhausted…but lucky.

Hey followers!

Sorry I haven’t posted in a few days – I’ve literally been working since Thursday (about 45 hours in the past 5 days).  I AM EXHAUSTED.  But finally, I can lay in bed and enjoy a little free time.  And now that I can relax, I’m reminded of how lucky I am.

I am so thankful to be able to work all weekend… It sounds crazy, but I’m lucky to work Thursday through Sunday at Continental – it’s the best shifts and I love what I do.  I meet all kinds of people, some really nice and others, well frankly, just crazy.  But every shift is different and exciting in it’s own way.  I also get to learn about food and drinks – who doesn’t love that?  Our chefs, managers, bartenders, and other coworkers are so knowledgeable and experienced that I learn something new every day.  Now I can throw dinner parties and not have to serve bagel bites or vodka and cranberry juice (which usually just becomes some jungle juice with any assortment of alcohol I have).  Crab cakes, summer rolls, and jalapeno margaritas, anyone?  And I get to work with some of my best friends.  I am definitely lucky.

And my friends.  I can’t tell you how thankful I am for them, especially the past few months.  It’s been a rough summer and fall for me, but my friends have been there every step of the way.  It isn’t until the hard times when you can see your true friends; those that care about you and want to be there for you.  And I’m a lucky guy to have had enough friends to make this summer as amazing as it could have been.  They’ve comforted me when I’ve cried, made me laugh, and bought me many rounds of (much needed) tequila shots.  What more do I need?

I’m also thankful for Kelly Clarkson’s new Christmas album “Wrapped in Red.”  I am a huge fan of both Kelly and Christmas music, so obviously, I am in heaven.  She covers many classics like “White Christmas,” “Silent Night,” and “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas,” as well as a couple of new singles.  I absolutely love “Winter Dreams” and album title song, “Wrapped in Red.”  Of the many Christmas songs I will be listening to this season, Kelly’s new album will definitely be on repeat.

And finally, I am definitely thankful for an extended lobster month at Route 6.  I didn’t get the chance to get over there in October or much of November, but finally, tonight, I will be enjoying lots of lobster with my best friend, Liz.  I’m a lucky guy. 😉

What are you all thankful for this year?

– Michael

Leave a Reply

