This morning, I am thankful.

A teacher, mentor, and good friend once advised me to wake up each morning and count my blessings.  I never took her advice, not realizing it’s impact it could have on my life, until now.  As it is November and Thanksgiving is only a few weeks away, I thought, why not start today?  Throughout the month, I’ll be creating a list of things I’m grateful for…

1.) The first thing that comes to mind is this cup of coffee.  Every morning, my eyelids slowly open, the sunlight blinds my heavy eyes, and all I can think is COFFEE.  It’s one of the few things that can get me out of bed in the morning.

2.)  The sunlight.  There is something so magical about rays of light streaming through your window.  While it sucks when it wakes you up, there is so much beauty in natural light.  I already can not wait to get outside and feel the sun on my face.

3.)  As I look around my apartment, wondering what else I’m thankful for (it’s not as easy as it sounds…), I am distracted by glitter everywhere, obviously the remnants of my Halloween costumes.  I love glitter.  It’s shiny, it’s fun, and it’s magical.

4.)  How could I be writing this list and not think of my father right away?  (I guess the coffee hasn’t kicked in yet).  My dad is one of the best people I know.  Not only is he amazingly supportive of me and whatever I want in life, but he is so supportive of others.  He is fortunate enough to have retired fairly early in life, and has now dedicated his life to service.  He volunteers just about every day of the week, finding joy and peace in helping others.  My dad is a special man.

5.)  Today.  Every day is a gift and I am excited for today.  I am working lunch, going to the gym, and going out with friends.  It doesn’t sound like a particularly special day, but I am able to do whatever I want to do.  It is a brand new day to be a better person and the person I want to be.  I am awake, I am alive, and I am caffeinated.  Bring it, Tuesday!

 
Michael
One thought on “This morning, I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

